We opted to give our musicians the week off since it’s just 2 days after Christmas. I led all songs from our grand piano, using very traditional arrangements.

O Come All Ye Faithful

Video: We Are Here

Hark the Herald Angels Sing
Angels We Have Heard on High
O Little Town of Bethlehem
Good Christian Men Rejoice

Message:
Audio download

Our teaching pastor spoke about the 2 comings of Christ: first as a lamb (sacrifice), second as a lion (King who will reign). The two songs following the message reflected both comings.

The First Noel
I Will Rise
(Chris Tomlin)

Since we didn’t have a band, I said a few words to encourage folks to really sing out on I Will Rise. The bridge just calls for a very big sound. It’s supposed to be a word-picture of heaven. I asked everyone to really ramp it up vocally when we got to that point, both as a personal act of praise and as an opportunity to minister to each other. The point I was going for was, “Sing loud because someone on the other side of the auditorium might really need that picture of heaven today.” The congregation responded well. I could hear them singing throughout the song.

We closed with a simple version of Go Tell It On the Mountain. The piano part I played during the chorus was actually from an organ arrangement by Dr. Paul Manz. I always loved his take on things in my organ-playing days.

To check out what others are doing in their services and learn more about what Sunday Setlists is all about, check out Fred McKinnon’s blog at http://www.fredmckinnon.com/myblog/2009/12/27/sunday-setlists-75/

